Welcome to my blog about better mental health and balance

Greetings from Chicago! With this entry, I’m kicking off a blog centered around life issues and topics related to how we feel and how we function. I see life as an opportunity for learning and growth. The bumps in the road, the challenges we face, those still moments when the wind is blowing through the trees just right … it all makes up our experiences, and all of our experiences have important value. My clients, friends, my family and the people I interact with on a daily basis effect me so much. The teaching is endless. So, I want to share the wealth.

I titled my blog “Stop Giving It Away” because one of the unhealthy dynamics I see a lot of in my practice (and in my life) is people engaging in what I call Detrimental Caretaking. What is detrimental caretaking (DC)? It is a little complicated, but my guess is you are doing it. And DC behavior is having enormous negative consequences for you and the people in your life. “Stop Giving It Away” is something I am so passionate about that I wrote a book about it!

While I’m a skilled and experienced therapist, I’m new to the blogging world, so please contact me via email or feel free to leave a comment in the space below. Thanks again, and I look forward to getting to know you better. Cherilynn

Leave a Reply

