Pink, Yes Pink, Rabbit Fur Coat

I have a rabbit fur coat I cannot wear because it’s so not me. The coat just doesn’t seem to work. I’m not sure why.  It is candy pink. Don’t get me wrong: This coat is sharp in its own special way. I mean, I saw it. I loved it. I bought it. But when I got it home and tried to wear it, I just couldn’t. It looks on me like how my girlfriends used to describe my tries to smoke in college. ”Cherilynn, you just can’t pull it off. It is soooo not you!”

The coat is sure to draw attention
I’ve never been one for putting myself in the spotlight. In fact, creating this blog has been a big step for me. But, I believe women are working too hard; for too many hours each day; in mind, body and spirit; to the point of depletion and complete exhaustion. They’ve lost (it) the biggest piece of themselves in their relationships and their busyness — and for the wrong reasons that often are triggered by deep feelings such as shame, guilt, fear, regret, loss and longing. I hope to help women change this troubling pattern I’ve seen throughout my years as a therapist and social worker.

Still not gonna wear the coat
The pink rabbit fur coat makes me feel uncomfortable, a tad insecure and generally unsettled. These are the feelings of the Give Away Girl when she’s on the high end of the DCC (the detrimental care continuum). The Give Away Girl life is largely unfulfilled but filled with pink rabbit fur coats (well sort of).

Which brings me to
Jenny Lewis and The Watson Twins and one of my favorite albums called Rabbit Fur Coat. There’s a story in this. See and listen here.

 

pinkrabbit

Leave a Reply

